Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman
Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey IV, Vice-Chairman
Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb
Sen. Scott Talley
Rep. J. Todd Rutherford
Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan Jr.
Hope Blackley
Lucy Grey McIver
Andrew N. Safran
J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

May 9, 2024

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held May 8-9, 2024:

Supreme Court

Seat 3

The Honorable Blake A. Hewitt, Conway, SC The Honorable Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, SC The Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Greenville, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Wednesday, May 22, 2024. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, June 5, 2024.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, erincrawford@scsenate.gov, (803) 212-6689, or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, lindiputnam@scsenate.gov, (803) 212-6623.